Congratulations to our 2018 / 2019 IECA Award Winners! 

The mission of the IECA Awards program is to recognize outstanding achievements in the erosion and sediment control industry. These awards are selected on criteria that reflect quality, skill and environmental benefits. Winners were selected from responses to a “Call for Entries” process. All winners were recognized at the 2019 IECA Annual Conference and Expo in Denver, Colorado on February 20.

The Environmental Excellence Award 

The Environmental Excellence Award is the IECA's premier award. It recognizes an outstanding stormwater and erosion and/or sediment control project, program or operation that demonstrates excellence in natural resource conservation and environmental protection. Recipients of this award show a high‐level of environmental benefit by clearly identifying the objectives, methods used, results obtained and details of the benefits to the environment.

This year’s award recognizes Wes Zech, Ph.D. and his previous work with the Auburn University Erosion and Sediment Control Testing Facility for their environmental stewardship within the construction industry by developing improved erosion and sediment control and stormwater technologies and practices; advancing knowledge through research and development, product evaluation and training. Fellow professor, Michael Perez, Ph.D., CPESC, nominated Zech and the facility stating “key areas in which the facility is nationally recognized include: ditch check practices, inlet protection practices, catch basins, sediment barriers and sediment basins. Their finding has helped rewrite erosion, sediment and stormwater control methods and requirements stipulated by the Alabama Handbook for Erosion Control, Sediment Control and Stormwater Management on Construction Sites and Urban Areas.”

The Outstanding Professional of the Year Award 

Outstanding Professional of the Year Award recognizes an IECA member as an individual or organization that demonstrates excellence in their work in the industry and is viewed by his IECA peers as an industry leader through significant engagement with the IECA.

This year’s award recognized two industry professionals - Claudia Chambers, CPESC, CISEC, QSP and Kym Kelley CPESC, CISEC, QSP who run Kelley Erosion Control (KEC). Nominated by industry peer, Julie Etra states “Chambers and Kelley have shown leadership in their field through guiding designers, specification writers and inspectors to adopt more successful and sensible methods, by following up on their work, and by installing demonstrations of various new technologies. KEC is one of the longest established erosion control contractors in the United States. KEC is known for quality, honesty, competency and innovative ideas.”

The Sustained Contributor Award 

The Sustained Contributor Award recognizes an IECA member who has provided distinguished service to the IECA and has made outstanding contributions to improve the erosion and sediment control industry for a sustained period of time. Winners of this Award will have demonstrated leadership by example through a significant and long-term contribution to the erosion and sediment control industry and to the IECA through one or more of the following: education, government involvement, research, establishment of standards or policies or the development of technology.

DJ Brouwer, PE, CFM was recognized for his contributions to the South Central Chapter of IECA. “Brouwer joined IECA in 1999 and became a board member of the newly created South Central Chapter of IECA,” explained Philip Handley, REM, CPESC, CESSWI, immediate past president of the IECA South Central Chapter. “Brouwer served as the Secretary/Treasurer of the chapter from 2000 to 2017. His knowledge of the by-Laws, processes, procedures, event coordination, tax law, etc., have been valuable and critical to the sustaining, progress and success of the chapter."

2018 Presenter of the Year

Educational awards were also recognized at the conference to recognize the 2018 IECA Annual Conference presenter of the year to the presenter who received the highest classroom evaluation and the 2019 IECA most distinguished technical paper voted on by industry peers. The presenter of the year was awarded to Dwayne Stenlund, CPESC for “Why are Inlet Protections BMPs so Difficult to Estimate and Implement Correctly?” His presentation addressed good and bad examples of inlet BMPs that were properly designed and installed based on project type, phase of work and time of year.

2019 Most Distinguished Technical Paper

The most distinguished technical paper award was presented to J. Blake Whitman, MS, Auburn University; Wesley Donald, Ph.D., CPESC, Auburn University and Wes Zech, Ph.D., University of Alabama at Birmingham for their paper “Full-Scale Performance Evaluations of Innovative and Manufactured Sediment Barrier Practices.” The paper provided an analysis of various perimeter control products, materials and performance capabilities and limitations of multiple sediment barrier practices.

IECA is the foremost organization for those involved in or concerned about soil erosion control. Membership (in IECA) tells others you take erosion control seriously and you want to help make a difference.

Scott Velting, CPESC, Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA