IECA Awards


The mission of the IECA Awards program is to recognize outstanding achievements in the erosion and sediment control and stormwater industry.

Nomination Rules and Guidelines

  • Nominators: Only current IECA members may nominate an individual, organization, project, or program for an award. Self-nominations are allowed.
  • Nominees: Please refer to the award descriptions for eligibility criteria. Only current IECA members may be nominated for an award.
  • Deadline: Nomination deadlines will be set each year by the Awards Committee. Deadlines are established each year to allow for promotion before the Annual Conference. Nominations are now open through 18 October 2024.
  • Process for Submittal: Nominations must be submitted electronically. Links to the nomination forms can be found under the Award Descriptions below.
  • Content: The content of a proposal varies according to the specific award. Two categories of content have been established: mandatory content and optional content. For both mandatory and optional material, the IECA Awards Committee reserves the right to validate the content of any nomination proposal, to request supplementary information from the nominator or, independently, seek any supplementary information it deems necessary in their review process.
    • Mandatory Content - All nominations must contain an awards application with the completed contact information for the Nominator and Nominee and the mandatory content specified in each award category.
    • Optional Content - The nominator may include optional content highlighting the attributes of the individual/project to supplement the mandatory content. The optional content is the nominator's opportunity to "make the case" for the nomination proposal for the award.


Environmental Excellence
Sustained Contributor
Outstanding Professional
Emerging Leaders (previously Young Professional Awards)
Sustained Partner
Contractor of the Year

IECA Education Awards
Technical Paper of the Year
- awarded to the technical paper from the IECA Annual Conference that receives the highest peer review score from the IECA Conference Review Team. The paper is evaluated on research, support of hypothesis, accurate and appropriate methods being used and identified, the collection of data and conclusion of research. 
Presenter of the Year - awarded to the presenter from the IECA Annual Conference that receives the highest score from classroom evaluations. A minimum of 20 evaluations must be submitted to be considered for this award. The presenter is evaluated on knowledge, technical accuracy, preparedness and communication in the subject matter. Additionally, the presentation is evaluated on meeting the learning outcomes, educating the audience on the chosen subject matter and motivating attendees to try new processes and procedures in their work environment. 

>> Past Award Winners

>> Partners for Excellence Chapter Awards

IECA is the foremost organization for those involved in or concerned about soil erosion control. Membership (in IECA) tells others you take erosion control seriously and you want to help make a difference.

Scott Velting, CPESC, Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA